More Memorable Events

Since earlier writing about “Memorable Events” and then “Nostalgia Rules in Kurri Kurri”, two more of these special events have been brought to my attention. The first is the Coolatie 2013 Vintage Tractor Pull.
Coolatia Vintage Tractor Pull
Coolatie is a village in northern NSW, north-west of Inverell. You can read about last year’s Tractor Pull in Mandy McKeesick’s blog, Rocky Springs Rambles – see http://rockysprings.wordpress.com/2012/07/04/letter-to-pa/. I think the Small Dog High-jump Competition would be good value!

And then there’s the Stone the Crows Festival in Wagga Wagga, which has just concluded for this year but will be on again in twelve months. See http://www.stonethecrows.com.au/ . It’s a celebration of the Grey Nomad lifestyle, and includes a host of Grey Nomad favourites such as bush poetry, gum leaf playing, line dancing, ukulele classes, and knitting workshops. Fascinating stuff!

And I won’t even mention the Morundah Carpathon!

All of this says to me that we need a national online database of these amazingly diverse and imaginative events, so that when you’re planning a trip to a particular part of the country, you can find out just what’s happening there, and plan your trip accordingly. When you include all the race days, gymkhanas, etc, there’d be literally hundreds of these special events every year – something for everybody. And attendance at any one of them can be a very memorable part of your trip.

There are a few regional lists of events available online, but as far as I can tell, they’re seldom comprehensive, even for the region they claim to cover. Australia has a national online database of public toilets (http://www.toiletmap.gov.au/) , but not of events. This seems to be getting our priorities wrong. (I suppose that failing to find a public toilet can become a sort of event, but that’s not what I mean.) Assuming Tony Abbott doesn’t promise a national online database of events in his campaign speech, some enterprising individual needs to take up the challenge to address this pressing national need.

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Memorable Events

  1. Neville says:

    Reading your latest blog reminded me of a radio interview I heard in the Illawarra within the last week. The fellow (whose name I’ve forgotten!) was speaking about a new series of maps by Cartoscope regarding Geotourism – where folk want to visit a geological structure and learn a little about its formation. It may not fit directly with your series, yet it’s another reason to travel over our ancient land.
    You’ll find more at: http://www.geomaps.com.au/

  2. Mandy says:

    The Coolatai Mob will appreciate the publicity – thanks.

  3. I think your chart is a splendid idea. It’s one more way to connect with both the people and traditions of these less urban areas. If you do create the chart, let me know, and I’ll definitely link to it from my blog.

    Cynthia

Leave a comment