The Joys of Summer — play it again, Sam

When I started this blog way back in 2011, I was sending posts out into the so-called blogosphere without any real expectation that anyone would find them, let alone read them. Now , 177 posts and more than 20,000 visits by readers to particular posts later, there are always at least a few readers every day to help this writer to feel that it’s not a total waste of time. And the stats tell me that readers have come from 83 different countries!

However a couple of the early posts were read by only one or two people. A post called “The Joys of Summer” suffered this fate. And since summer is once again approaching, I thought it might be worth repeating this post from December 2011:

**********************************

Embed from Getty Images

I’m sometimes asked about travel to the Outback in summer. The Australian summer is December to February. I don’t normally go Outback between mid-November and mid-March, because it’s just too hot.

Here are some average daily maximum temperatures for the month of January:

  •       White Cliffs 35.8°C
  •       Tibooburra 36.1°C
  •       Alice Springs 36.4°C
  •       Bourke 37.1°C
  •       Marree 37.8°C
  •       Oodnadatta 37.8°C

These are averages, which means that about half the days in January will be hotter than the average. Bearing in mind that 100°F is equivalent to 37.8°C, it’s interesting to note that both Marree and Oodnadatta have about half the days in January above 100°F! Oodnadatta’s hottest day so far this month (December) reached 44.9°C, which is 112.8°F.

Of course the vehicle we travel in is air-conditioned, but you don’t spend 24 hours a day in the vehicle. Doing pretty much anything in the open with the temperature in the forties can be quite uncomfortable, and in the extreme situation literally fatal. People sometimes are not aware that prolonged exposure to high temperatures can cause dehydration and death. It happens!

Other factors to be taken into account include:

• Camp fires are not as enjoyable when it’s hot.
• Snakes are more active in the summer. (So are flies.)
• High temperatures put more stress on the vehicle, and make breakdown more likely.
• Other travellers are few and far between, so getting help in the event of a breakdown can be much more difficult.

Do you need any more persuasion?

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Joys of Summer — play it again, Sam

  1. Anne Newton says:

    Sheeesh! Rob, anything over 26 degrees C and I’m looking for a cool drink and a shady tree!

  2. Richard Kessling says:

    Sheeesh Rob, I was pointed to your blog by Westprint, in early 2013. Going through serious trials at the time. Read everything you had written and it variously helped, gave chuckles, engendered hope and dreams.
    Cheers
    Richard

    • dazzlerplus says:

      Hi Richard, you sure know how to encourage a bloke who scratches out a few words, and then pushes them out into the ether in the hope that they’ll mean something to someone!

  3. Jo says:

    My intention was to leave a one-word reply – No. But then I read Richard’s comment above and thought ‘how cool is that?’ …oops no pun intended! In my younger days I loved summers but am now becoming more of an autumn/spring type of person. I spent two summers working in Alice Springs. I still remember the day I was just heading out to get on my pushbike and ride the 9kms to work at Old Timers and the radio announcer said ‘the time is 5 past 8 (am) and the temperature is 38 degrees’. Talk about a melted mess by the time I got there.

  4. Lavinia Ross says:

    Thanks for reposting! We seem to be in a period of more extreme weather over here. Hottest I ever saw it get was 112 degrees in summer, coldest was 9 degrees in winter.

Leave a Reply

