Australia’s Mountaintop Experiences

I recently read an account of a team of men attempting to set a record for climbing the highest peak in each of Australia’s six states and two mainland territories (Northern Territory and Australian Capital Territory) in the shortest time.

It reminded me of something about Australia being the world’s flattest country, but that was soon dispelled by Google telling me that the Maldives, 1192 islands with a total area of 298 square kms, has no point higher than four metres! (which of course makes the Maldives extremely vulnerable to rising sea levels). Australia couldn’t beat that! I soon discovered that what my memory should have told me is that Australia is the world’s lowest continent. Our average elevation is 330 metres. As a comparison, the average elevation of the USA is 762 metres.

In case you’re interested, the eight Australian peaks which the intrepid climbers were attempting to climb were:

Queensland                               Mt Bartle Frere                     1622 m

New South Wales                     Mt Kosciuszko                      2228 m

Victoria                                      Mt Bogong                              1986 m

South Australia                        Mt Woodroffe                         1435 m

Western Australia                    Mt Meharry                             1253 m

Tasmania                                   Mt Ossa                                    1614 m

Northern Territory                   Mt Zeil                                      1531 m

Australian Capital Territory   Bimberi Peak                           1912 m

Here’s a picture of Mt Meharry. I reckon I’d have a go at that after lunch.

Mt Meharry

I suspect that none of these are going to challenge your average mountaineer, but some readers can no doubt report their personal mountaintop experiences. Please tell us.

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Australia’s Mountaintop Experiences

  1. Lavinia Ross says:

    Highest mountain I have ever hiked to the peak is Mount Washington, back on the east coast of the U.S. in New Hampshire. Most notable for its erratic weather and high winds.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mount_Washington_%28New_Hampshire%29

    • dazzlerplus says:

      The snow-covered picture of Mt Washington looks fairly daunting. That’s one problem you’d never have on Mt Meharry!

      • Lavinia Ross says:

        Late July/early August was the best time of year to hike it and avoid snow. From a distance in summer, the lightning strike across it were pretty impressive, and beautiful. From the upper floors of the Mount Washington Hotel, I had a pretty good view of the lightning show across the Presidential Range at night. The trails up and down ranged in difficulty, and it was easy enough to get up and down in one day, and there was always the option of the Cog Railway or auto road.

  2. I climbed a mountain (name unknown) with Paulbark on the GR 10 in the French Pyrenees. Only trouble was when we got to the top there was another mountain to go. That was repeated about 5 times. Then the mist started to roll in and May was too early for shepherd’s huts to be open as safe havens. But we survived – a kind farmer found us and drove us down all those mountains in the back of his ute with his two enfants and several moutons.

    • dazzlerplus says:

      Quelle bonne chance! I have just read that the GR10 covers some 60,000 km in France alone! Wow! That’s longer than the Oodnadatta Track, the Birdsville Track and the Strzelecki Track combined (and you don’t see many moutons in those parts either)!

  3. Jo says:

    There is no chance of me ever climbing a mountain in the shortest time. I walk/climb like a turtle wading through peanut butter… but I get there in the end. The Kokoda Trail has some fiercely steep trails. When I told my guide Bonsy that the biggest hill in my town was 32 steps to the top he chuckled for a very long time. When I look out over the Wimmera plains I always wonder what he would make of all that flatness.

  4. dazzlerplus says:

    I’ve just found myself wondering how hard it would be to make a list of the LOWEST point in each state which is called “Mount” something. For example, in NSW I suspect that Mount Druitt would be in the running, since the region was I gather named after a place in Ireland, but there is not even a hill in Mt Druitt, NSW!

  5. Anne Newton says:

    Hmmm…Mt Druitt, unfortunately low. 😦

    I’ve skied down a few mountains, but was never keen to climb back up them. Much preferred the tow. And have paid the price now, of bad knees and an inability to climb much more than the attic ladder. Have to say, the view from the dormer window is quite satisfying as I look across Melbourne Uni and nearby roofs.

    Hooray Rob.

Leave a Reply

