The Comforts of Home

With more and more properties being connected to the power grid, and the availability of bottled gas, the wood-burning stove has become a threatened species.

 

However, it is still possible to buy, for at least several thousand dollars, a shiny new wood-burning stove, with claims that you can cook just about anything on it. (Did you know you can even buy a diesel-powered stove? Sounds like a bit of a worry, but I guess no more dangerous than a gas stove.)

 

But for me, it’s a delight to see an old wood stove that’s boiled ten thousand billies and cooked as many meals, and is often rather like its owner – a bit worn and weathered, but still beautiful.

 IMG_2039

A warm fuel stove will usually be the centre of the house in the winter, and the chair in the picture indicates that sitting near the stove with the firebox open waiting for the kettle to boil is a good place to be.

 

However in the summer – at least in the warmer parts of the country – the opposite is true, and working in a heated kitchen when the outside temperature is uncomfortable high is no fun. For that reason, it’s not unusual in old houses to see the kitchen physically separate from the rest of the house, sometimes connected by a breezeway.

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Comforts of Home

  1. Lavinia Ross says:

    Many people have them here, as wood is so plentiful. I’ve never seen one inset into a fireplace area like that though! Makes sense. Yes, I bet cooking on one in the heat of summer is no fun.

    • dazzlerplus says:

      Hi Lavinia, thanks for your comments. I think one of the differences between your part of the world and here is indeed the availability of wood. Many of the areas I’m thinking about are in relatively arid country, where wood is not plentiful. (See post “The End of the Outback Campfire?”, Nov 11, 2011).
      The stove being inset into the base of a chimney structure was the norm in rural homesteads for many years.

  2. Anne Newton says:

    I couldn’t agree more with your comments about the cooker in Winter. I have a gas fired AGA, and it’s the heart of the kitchen. The cat loves it and is frequently prostrate, at full stretch, parallel to the cast iron base of the 4 ovens. But in Summer, we turn it off and resort to the Australian icon, the BBQ. If I need to boil a pot, I have a single burner butane camp stove and anything else gets heated in the microwave. Ahhh! Winter is my favourite time of year.

Leave a Reply

