Classic Outback #1

The Outback provides an amazing spectrum of sights, ranging from classically beautiful scenes through to weird and wonderful surprises. These “Classic Outback” posts will provide a series of scenes, each of which could be in any one of a thousand different places in the Outback, and portraying a classical aspect of Outback scenery.

This first Classic Outback shot shows that beautiful combination of Outback colours – the red soil road, the grey-green foliage, and the clear blue sky. I find driving along such a road to be not only a visual delight, but (usually) a very pleasant driving experience as well. The type of road is wide enough to provide reasonable notice of local residents who decide to run (or hop) across the road without notice, and also a very smooth and quiet surface to drive on.

But this picture will no doubt provoke different reactions from different people. What does it say to you? Please add your comment below.

F1000008

 

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Classic Outback #1

  1. Kev says:

    On the Road Again…. The freedom and the excitement of it all !

    • dazzlerplus says:

      The freedom is certainly palpable for those of us who are used to city driving (where we have a road sign to be noted about every 50 metres — Speed Limit 50, No Right Turn, Speed Hump, Speed Camera Ahead, etc, etc.)
      Rob

  2. Ros says:

    The paradox of the desert – its apparent desolation yet abundance of life.

  3. Anne Ludstrom says:

    Slippery when wet perhaps?

  4. Lavinia Ross says:

    Beautiful combination of colors. I like the idea of a wide open but quiet road.

  5. Wildflower says:

    Great image! Gives me a wonderful feeling of connecting to nature through the earthy colours and great expanse. Mostly a sense of freedom and the great unknown.

    • dazzlerplus says:

      Ah yes, Wildflower, you speak words of wisdom. One only hopes that it’s not the “great unknown” for the driver, and that s/he has at least some idea where we are going.

  6. Jo says:

    Great Photo. I just saved it as my desktop background (yes, I know – I’ll have to start paying you a royalty soon!). To me it shows a road of endless possibility. Who knows where it goes. My mottonis ‘you are not lost while you can turn around and go back’. Add to that all peace of the Australian bush. Makes me want to leave work and head out bush right now.

  7. Shona says:

    I immediately sighed “aah” to myself … but then I’ve been heard to say I’m never happier than when I have a wide, red road in front of me. That pic reminds me of the eastern end of the Sandover where it runs through Lake Nash Station. Great pic!

  8. Graeme says:

    Or the road Eulo heading south to Hungerford…4 weeks and we will be there……again. Can’t wait

Leave a Reply

