Beauty and Power

Over the weekend, I attended a conference organised by the NSW Reconciliation Council. It focused on the need for recognition of indigenous Australians in our Constitution, and was held in the Booderee National Park, near Jervis Bay on the NSW South Coast, which is run by the Wreck Bay Aboriginal Community. We camped in the Park, and although the weather was mostly on the damp side, we had a great time in beautiful surroundings.

It was a delight to see lots of brightly coloured parrots, as well as wallabies, at close quarters.

parrot 1parrot 2I was a bit sceptical when a young boy of about eight, whose parents were attending the conference, offered to show me a diamond python he’d found, curled up in the grass near a log. I accepted his offer, and after a short walk from our camp site, we found the python, as promised, about five or six feet long. The lad even demonstrated his bravery by patting it, whereupon it moved, thus demonstrating that it was definitely alive.

I mentioned to my young friend that pythons don’t always like being patted, and that it would be better just to admire it from a distance.

My python awareness was therefore running at an elevated level when I came across a story in this morning’s paper about a struggle to the death between a python and a crocodile. It happened yesterday at Lake Moondarra near Mt Isa in western Queensland, when a giant water python attacked a metre-long fresh-water crocodile. It took some five hours before the croc succumbed to the crushing pressure of the python’s coiled body. Then the python ate its victim! (Picture shows python with croc inside.)

I wouldn’t recommend patting that python!

pythom eats croc

 

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beauty and Power

  1. Mandy says:

    OK I have to admit this leaves me feeling a little squeamish. I used to like pythons but now some of that security has been taken away. Thankfully I’m bigger than a fresh-water crocodile.

    • dazzlerplus says:

      Just don’t lose much weight, Mandy, or you might look tempting! And I reckon the average python would think you look much more pleasant to squeeze than a croc (which has lots of hard spikey bits).

Leave a Reply

