Big News from Cradock

Readers of the Bobby Dazzler Newsletter (you can request a free subscription at brennan@bba.com.au) have been kept well informed of developments in the remarkable Flinders Ranges village of Cradock.

In the June 2012 issue, we reported on the establishment of the Cradock Wildlife Reserve, aka the Safari Park, and the first two acquisitions: an elephant and a giraffe. Then just this past October, we published an amazing picture of a “big hat” concealed at the back of the Cradock Hotel.

As everyone knows, Aussies just love “big things”, and the country is home to many of them, such as the “Big Merino”, the “Big Gumboot”, the “Big Banana” and the “Big Chook”. It’s always a memorable experience when travelling in Oz suddenly to come across a big thing. It was a formative experience for me when, as a young lad, I first saw the Big Mosquito at Hexham, near Newcastle. The mosquitos at Hexham, often referred to as “Hexham Greys”, are a savage breed, not to be trifled with, and this message came across clearly to me when I first saw the Big Mosquito, perched on the roof of the Hexham Bowling Club. It’s particularly scary when its eyes light up at night.

Anyway, we can now reveal that the Cradock Wildlife Reserve is home to the “Big Hat”. This fine picture, taken into the setting sun, gives you an idea of what am imposing sight it is. Naturally, it has been installed on a high stand, well clear of attack by the elephant or the giraffe.

big hatWell, you’ve read about it here, even before it shows up on Google. (There is an article in Wikipedia about “Australia’s Big Things”, but as I write, there is no mention of the Big Hat. It won’t be long!)

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Big News from Cradock

  1. Cynthia says:

    I have always felt that a major reason I have feel so completely at home in Australia is the geographic and cultural similarities between Oz and the American Midwest, where I grew up — ie, wide-open spaces and general friendliness. But this seals it. Driving across the Midwest, “big things” abound, including a big cow, big corn, and a huge cobra at the Reptile Gardens.

    • dazzlerplus says:

      That’s interesting! Maybe it’s because in a city there tends to be lots of large things competing for our attention, but once we get out into remote areas, just one large thing can become a focus.

  2. roobark says:

    Congratulations on raising the Big Hat – another first for Bobby Dazzler. I dips me lid!

  3. kelsgonebush says:

    Is that Ozzie the Mozzie ? I recent moves to Karuah , near Hexham and drive past the sign for Ozzie nearly every day 🙂 I’d love to see the big hat ! Adding it to my list of things to do .. Great pic 🙂

  4. Pingback: Cradock: The Legend Grows | Bobby Dazzler's Blog

Leave a Reply

