The Pleasures of Cyberfriendship

It was late last year that I first came across Mandy McKeesick’s blog, Rocky Springs Rambles (www.rockysprings.wordpress.com) about “loving and living rural Australia”, and found her vivid accounts of the joys and difficulties of life on the land in northern New South Wales made for fascinating reading.

Our blogs overlapped a little, and we soon found ourselves swapping emails about matters of mutual interest, such as how to get more people to follow your blog, how some people can find time to post to their blog every day and still have a life, interesting events happening in rural towns, etc. We became cyberfriends, and then, due to a serendipitous chain of events, actually met each other in person. See Mandy’s post http://rockysprings.wordpress.com/2013/07/27/cyberfriends-and-dog-tales/comment-page-1/#comment-528 .

blogger's fears

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cyberfriendship has been a very positive factor in my life, and both my inbox and outbox contain hundreds of emails which I don’t want to delete because they trace the history of my friendships with people in various parts of the world, some of whom I’ve not seen for many years, and others whom I’ve never actually met. (And perhaps I should add that I don’t use either Facebook or Twitter, having tried them both and decided they didn’t “scratch where it itches” for me.)

Here are some photos to complement Mandy’s picture of when we all met near the end of a recent Outback trip:

IMG_1217

Preparing for an evening around the campfire at Montecollina Bore on the Strzelecki Track.

IMG_1226

Lake Pinaroo in Sturt National Park in the north-west corner of New South Wales provided some nice reflections to complement a beautiful sky.

IMG_1208

The silhouette of a giant Scottish terrier on the horizon at Alberrie Creek on the Oodnadatta Track was reassuring (I think) to my Scottish guests John and Audrey Webster.

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Pleasures of Cyberfriendship

  1. Mandy says:

    Oh just great. Now there are pictures to make me even more jealous 🙂

  2. Kathy Tucker says:

    Hi,
    On a recent trip to the centre (jan 2014) I met in the bar at Oodnadatta pub an old ringer who was in the movie that hangs on the wall. I’ve been trying to find information about this and cannot. Do you know anything about this.
    Greatly appreciated. Kathy Tucker
    Avid traveller of the great country!

    • dazzlerplus says:

      Hi Kathy, I’m not a frequenter of the bar at the Oodna pub, so I probably won’t be much use to you. I assume you’re wanting info about the movie and not the old ringer (!) If it’s an Aussie movie about sheep, shearing, etc. it might be “Sunday Too Far Away” which came out in 1975, starring Jack Thompson and Max Cullen.

      You could phone the pub (08 8670 7804). Or there might be someone at the Pink Roadhouse (08 8670 7822) who knows the posters in the pub. Best of luck!

      Bobby D

Leave a Reply

