Calling the Experts

Many times I have driven through the “gorgeous” gorges and scenic drives of the Flinders Ranges in the vicinity of Wilpena Pound in South Australia. Many times I have observed the tracks worn across the steep hillsides, as seen in this picture.

IMG_0846

If I were traversing cattle or sheep country, I would assume them to be the tracks worn by those animals, as they repeatedly follow their familiar routes. But the picture is taken in the Flinders Ranges National Park, where there are no cattle or sheep. There are a just a few feral goats which have been fortunate enough to evade the strenuous efforts made to eradicate them, but I assume not nearly enough to maintain these tracks.

I’m fairly certain they are not human walking tracks – there are too many of them for that to be the explanation.

There are plenty of kangaroos, wallabies and emus in the Park. My question is: Which of these animals (if any) makes these tracks? I think I am correct in saying that the tracks I have noticed are all on sloping ground, often quite steep. Who can help me?

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Calling the Experts

  1. Anne says:

    I’ve seen tracks going uphill in steep country in the Strathbogies…until I saw a big Eastern Grey bound up the track, I’d have never believed it was Kangaroos!

  2. Anne says:

    Oh he was crossing the road in front of me too!

  3. roobark says:

    I’ve always assumed they were wallaby tracks.

  4. Jo says:

    I always assumed they were kangaroo and wallaby tracks but would like to hear if anyone knows for sure what they are.

  5. Lizzie says:

    Can’t help you with this one Rob. I’m still back puzzling over that bower bird who is so busy looking for blue that he completely overlooks the beauty of red, purple…

  6. dazzlerplus says:

    Thanks for your comments. I now have it on good authority that these tracks are indeed made by kangaroos/wallabies. Anne, Roobark and Jo, you are quite correct.

Leave a Reply

