Emu Whispering

Further to the post called “Picture Challenge #12” dated June 13, 2012, herewith another example of the fine art of emu whispering. (Picture by Jacinta Shailer.)

I’m wondering whether, if encouraged, emu whispering could become a national pastime, and even a competitive sport. However I don’t think it could ever get included in the Olympic Games, due to the reported scarcity of emus in other countries.

 Worthy of note is that on a recent Outback trip, emus were seen in great numbers, including quite a few chicks. I encourage other Outback travellers to have a go at whispering – it’s not at all hard once you get the hang of it, except that you do tend to end up with an assortment of prickles and burrs and a certain amount of red dust on your otherwise immaculate clothes.

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emu Whispering

  1. I have been having a vicarious outback trip reading “Australia Twice Traversed” by the explorer Ernest Giles describing his five expeditions over SA, WA and NT.
    Why I mention this is because he said the aboriginal people called not only the birds in your picture emus but also his camels! I suppose there is a likeness in shape. I salute your emu whisperers as I would think they are taking rather a risk aren’t they? The emus seem to have a formidable beak.

    • dazzlerplus says:

      Yes, Anne, the emu does have a formidable beak, and is not averse to using it. It is certainly not recommended to go too close to an emu in an enclosed area, since they have been know to peck at people’s eyes.

      The standard procedure for the whisperer when an emu gets too close for comfort is to stand up quickly and raise your arm straight above your head, such that your hand is higher than the emu’s head. This apparently gives the emu the impression that you are a very tall emu, and hence not to be trifled with. The corollary is that emu whispering is not recommended for children or adults who are vertically challenged.

Leave a Reply

