Outback Wildflowers

Yesterday I was talking to some friends who are shortly travelling to Western Australia, with one of their main objectives to see the wildflowers.

In my travels to the Outback over many years, I’ve seen lots and lots of wildflowers, sometimes carpeting the ground as far as the eye can see, sometimes just in isolated patches. One very special experience was finding some albino Sturt’s Desert Peas near the road between Wilcannia and White Cliffs in western New South Wales a few years ago.

While a mass display of the one colour is very striking, it’s a real serendipity to find a kaleidoscopic  collection of different blooms all clustered together.

I’ve sometimes been asked to schedule a trip so that we can see the wildflowers. But my experience tells me that in many areas, their appearance is rather unpredictable, and dependent on rainfall patterns, both long term and recent, as well as the time of year, in particular spring. I suspect that in parts of Western Australia, things may be somewhat more predictable.

But when you see a good display of wildflowers, it’s truly a memorable experience. Please feel free to add your wildflower experiences in the comments.

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Outback Wildflowers

  1. Jo says:

    Great photos. That is what I love about the Australian bush. No matter what time of the year you can find colour and flowers (just sometimes you need to look harder than others).

Leave a Reply

