Quandongs

When I was a kid, my brother and I had a Chinese Checkers board which my uncle had made for us, using quandong seeds as the pieces which were moved across the board.
Little did I know then that the quandong was a true Australian native fruit. Quandong trees grow in arid and semi-arid areas right across mainland Australia, and, interestingly, are nearly always parasitic on other trees.
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The quandong is often referred to as a wild peach. It has been a valuable food source for aborigines for many thousands of years, and is also valued for its medicinal uses. The quandong has a higher vitamin C content than the orange.

A great place to sample quandong products is the Bush Bakery & Quandong Café in Copley, near Leigh Creek in South Australia. Their quandong pies are truly delicious!

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quandongs

  1. Jo says:

    My Nanna also had a set of quandong Chinese Checkers. There are quandongs around here in both the Little and Big Deserts and also a commercial plantation but the best quandong pies/tarts I have tasted came from a market at Hawker – not far from Copley so perhaps that area has more luscious fruit (or really good cooks). My most embarrassing quandong moment was in Dangalli NP when I asked the ranger why there were quandong seeds/stones in the middle of the track – far from any shrubbery. His answer…because they have been through an emu. Whoops!

Leave a Reply

