Picture Challenge #14

These three young ladies are putting a deal of effort into their Outback journey. Can you tell me where they are, and also something about their chosen means of transport?

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Picture Challenge #14

  1. Cuppa says:

    Yup, it’s the MV Tom Brennan, used for crossing the Cooper Creek on the Birdsville track. Launched in May 1949, of the back of Tom Kruse, the mailman’s truck. 12′ long & was fitted with an outboard motor. It was reputed to be unsinkable as it had flotation tanks along both sides but did go under on a number of occasions due to overloading, but refloated again once some of the cargo was removed. Replaced with a larger ferry in 1960. How do I know this? Because I have a similar photo with MrsTea sitting in the boat aswell as a photo of the plaque telling of the boat’s history. 🙂
    regards
    Cuppa

  2. Cuppa says:

    And I reckon your ladies are ‘travelling’ backwards. 🙂

  3. dazzlerplus says:

    You’ve got it right, Cuppa. (I hope MrsTea wasn’t travelling backwards!)
    The Cooper crossing is about 140km north of Marree. These days there’s a small ferry that gets pressed into service when the Cooper cuts the Birdsville Track. This happened in June 2010, for the first time in 20 years. The ferry ran for about 13 months during 2010 and 2011, and completed 19,727 crossings.

Leave a Reply

