Picture Challenge #10

Colour is one thing that’s not lacking in the Outback. Photographers go beserk, and I sometimes wonder whether the government will soon have to impose some sort of limit on the number of pixels each person is allowed to use in a day. After all, pixels don’t just grow on trees, you know. We can no longer afford to treat our natural resources as if they were unlimited.

I took a few pictures on a recent trip, but tried not to just snap away at anything which moved. Indeed I concentrated on things which weren’t moving at all, and here’s one of my shots:

Where is this place, and what purpose did it serve in times gone by?

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Picture Challenge #10

  1. Is this a meteor crater? Its a great photo. I have no idea so I am sure your followers will know. Makes a person very enthusiastic to go and see all these wonderful places.

  2. David says:

    Gravel pit used for road metal??

  3. Judy says:

    Looks like the ochre pits used by indigenous people. On the toad to Maree.

    • dazzlerplus says:

      Judy, you’ve got it! The picture is of the Ochre Cliffs, located about 5 kms north of Lyndhurst, on the road — or toad as we sometimes say — to Marree in South Australia. Coloured ochre has been used by aboriginal people for many thousands of years for body painting and other ceremonial purposes. I understand that the ochre from this site, red, brown, yellow, grey and white, was regarded as being of high quality, and was used as a bartering medium in dealings with tribes from distant areas.

      One wonders how many tens of thousands of visits were made to this area over the millenia to dig away ochre using only sharp sticks and stone tools, in order to remove what appears to be a massive quantity.

  4. Anne says:

    Great photo…love the shadow too. I say, “Use your pixels while we have them, and leave it to the next generation to find a solution” . Chuckle Chuckle…..

Leave a Reply

