Aussie Placenames

This is not about the Outback, but I’m going to write it anyway.

At the weekend, I drove down to Wagga — or, to be more precise, Wagga Wagga — and on the way was listening on the radio to details of local football matches to be played over the weekend. As the names of many of the towns and villages in the vicinity were mentioned, it occurred to me that the area around Wagga and the Riverina is very rich in interesting placenames. Here’s a selection:

Coleambally, Uranquinty, Walla Walla, Jerilderie, Mangoplah, Burrumbuttock, Goolgowi, Grong Grong, Moombooldool, Gidginbung, Stockinbingal, Goolgowi, Ungarie, Tullibigeal, Merriwagga, Gumly Gumly, Wallendbeen, Quandialla, Cookardinia, Walbundrie.

In the process of reading up on some of this when I got home, I discovered that the Yanco Wamoon Narrandera United Rugby League Football Club (sometimes referred to as the YWNURLFC) has decided to play under the name “Bidgee Hurricanes”. “Go Bidgees” sounds so much better than “Go Yanco Wamoon Narrandera”!

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aussie Placenames

  1. Anne says:

    I lived in the Riverina for many years, so some of the names are very familiar, but others I’ve never heard of! My friend, Yolanta, lives in Howlong, not far from Burrumbuttock. I worked just out of Hillston as a jillaroo on Merrowie Station, so had to drive through Merriwagga on the way from Hay. Also worked at the Jerilderie Ambulance Station as a relief officer. Working “one-up” and having locals and truck drivers appear from nowhere to give you a hand was a frequent occurrence and very gratefully accepted. Ahhh memories…..

    That reminds me of the A B Patterson poem, “Hay, Hell and Booligal”…
    “Come and see me, boys,” he said;
    “You’ll find a welcome and a bed
    And whisky any time you call;
    Although our township hasn’t got
    The name of quite a lively spot –
    You see, I live in Booligal

    “And people have an awful down
    Upon the district and the town –
    Which worse than hell itself they call;
    In fact the saying far and wide
    Along the Riverina side
    Is Hay and Hell and Booligal

Leave a Reply

