Picture Challenge #4

Can you tell me what this object represents, what its function is, what it’s made from, and where it’s located?

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Picture Challenge #4

  1. Photo of the drinking fountain opposite the General Store in Maree (South Australia)

  2. Anne says:

    Hi Rob, It looks like a camel being a sundial made out of old sleepers. I don’t know where it is but is it somewhere on the old Ghan line?

  3. dazzlerplus says:

    Kay, you’re quite correct. And Anne, assuming that you’re just working it out logically without having actually been there, your conclusions are commendably right too. The sleepers are of course from the old Ghan line from Port Augusta to Alice Springs, which was closed in 1980 when the new line some distance to the west was opened.

    The time when the picture was taken appears to be about 9.30am.

Leave a Reply

