Baby Kookas

Although kookaburras are not normally found in the Outback, I can’t resist sharing with you this picture of baby kookaburras from a recent edition of the Sydney Morning Herald:

They’re certainly cute, and their mother no doubt thinks they’re exquisitely beautiful. I was more than usually interested, because in recent weeks I’ve got to be on quite friendly terms with several local kookas, who will now take a piece of meat from my hand, and, after gobbling down the first piece, will accept a second piece and fly off across the bay with it held in their sizable beak. In my sentimental way, I assume they have a nest full of hungry chicks to feed, something like those in the picture, and are diligently carrying out their parental duties. Such beautiful creatures!

Assorted other smaller birds, particularly Indian mynas, seem far less charitable in their attitude to the kookaburras, making repeated dive-bombing raids accompanied by loud squawking just above the kookas’ heads.  This is I’m told due to the tendency of the carnivorous kookaburras to sometimes eat the chicks of other species. It’s a jungle out there!

About dazzlerplus

Writing about the things that interest me helps me to discover what I think. One of my loves is the Australian Outback, and I travel out there often, and when possible take friends with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Kookas

  1. What a sight! I have never seen baby kookas before. We think the racket we hear at present must be young ones but of course now they are fully feathered.
    I agree with your comment about the jungle. I feed a very friendly butcher bird. He follows me everywhere even far down the paddock. Imagine my horror when I saw him with a chick in his beak. I am still recovering. Likewise the hawk has snatched parrots right before our eyes.
    On a more pleasant note Merry Christmas everyone.

Leave a Reply

